Wednesday, June 3, 2009

The Beautys - Sweetheart! Sweetheart! 7"

ARTIST: The Beautys
TITLE: Sweetheart! Sweetheart!
LABEL: House O' Pain
YEAR: 1997
GENRE: Pop punk / punk
PRESSING INFO: I only know of 1 pressing on black. If somebody has more info, please contact me.

A lot of my entries seem to come from City Lights Records out of State College PA. Well here is another one. At the time I remember hearing about this band being on Mutant Pop. So when I saw it for $2.99, I had to pick it up.

If you don't like female lead singers, you might want to pass on this. Personally I think some women are a lot better than the men singing. The beautys are a 3 piece band that have released a ton of splits and a few full lengths. This release has a great pop punk song (sweetheart sweetheart) and the other 3 are old school style pissed off punk. The last song being an instrumental. It seems pretty hard to find so download it and enjoy!

1. Sweetheart Sweetheart
2. Jocks On Junk
3. Black Coptors Over U.S.A.
4. Party Pants

Tuesday, June 2, 2009

Discount - Singles Collection #2 CD

ARTIST: Discount
TITLE: Singles Collection #2
LABEL: New American Dream
YEAR: 2002
GENRE: Pop punk / emo

Discount was a band that had a pretty big following on the underground punk scene from 1995 until 2000. They released a ton of 7", a few full lengths and they appeared on countless compilations. They also were on quite a few 7" splits as well. This will not be the only Discount release that is featured in this blog. I am a huge Discount fan and I have a lot of 7"'s and a few splits. Allison (the lead singer) went on to be in The Kills

I picked this album up at the champs punk rock flea market for $3. Which is super cheap. It is the second in the series of singles collections. The first one is still available. This release seems to be harder to find for some odd reason.

1 Slant Invention
2 Portrait Of A Cigarette
3 It's Been Years
4 Most Beautiful Criminal
5 History Is History
6 This Rooms Regular
7 Kill Fix (Demo)
8 Antiseptic
9 Fixing Rubble, Building Us
10 Harder To Tell
11 Faithful Elevator
12 Successfully Delirious
13 Crash (Demo)
14 Hit (Demo)
15 Aerial (Demo)